dot Current Exhibit
dot Upcoming Exhibits
dot Past Exhibits
dot Quilts=Art=Quilts

October 27, 2013 - January 5, 2014

Jurors: Rosalie Dace • Jo Anne Cooper

Prize Juror : Lasse Antonsen
2013 Prize Winners

Best of Show: Judy Kirpich, Anxiety No. 6


First Prize & Juror's Choice: Kit Vincent, Megantic


Second Prize: Kathleen Probst, Alinea #9


Schweinfurth Award for Design Excellence: Gerri Spilka, Edge #2


Award for Surface Design: Diane Franklin, Reflections 2


Catherine Hastedt Award for Worksmanship: Diane Siebels, Head Two


Juror's Choice Award: Ruth Harmelink, Learning Curves, Mostly Neutrals


Honorable Mention: Betty Busby, "Secrets"

Honorable Mention: Betty Busby, Secrets


Honorable Mention: Pat Pauly, Pink Leaf 4 (Yellow)


Honorable Mention: Tammy Sutherland, Untitled Fragment #1

Exhibiting Artsits:  

Aristova, Ludmila

Bajacharya, Madeleine

Bardach, Nancy

Blaydon, Judi

Bowman-Friedlander, Leslie

Boyd, Dawn Williams

Brooks, Serena

Bugliani, Barbara

Burr, Marianne

Busby, Betty

Busch, Elizabeth

Carrington, Connie

Cashatt, Deb/Sazaki, Kris

Chin, Shin-hee

Ciolino, Sandra Palmer

Condon, Nancy

Davis, Helene

Day, Jennifer

DeCamp, Marcia

Dennis, Sue

Dockery, Dianne Vottero

Dosho, Chiaki

Fell, Deborah

Frampton-Cooper, Sheila

Franklin, Diane

Gosselin, Marie-France

Graziano, Julia

Gregg, Sandy

Harmelink, Ruth

Hoffenberg, Rosemary

Hooworth, Judy

Jensen, Marie

Keith, Noel
Kennedy-Zafred, Patricia

Kirpich, Judy

Konishi, Harue

Kreneck, Ellie

Larzelere, Judith
Loewen, Pamela

Lutteral, Pati

Marino, Ruta Butkus

Maser-Flanagan, Valerie

May, Martha

McCabe, Kathleen

McKie, Barbara Barrick

Meyer, Jeannette DeNicolis

Munoz, Anne

Murphy, Patricia

Nepom, Barbara

Pauly, Pat

Probst, Kathleen

Redmond, Wen

Robertson, Ruan

Schulz, Karen

Shelenberger, Sandy

Shell, Maria

Siebels, Diane

Sowada, Joan

Spilka, Gerri

Steadman, Janet

Stiassni, Kate

Sutherland, Tammy

Szeremet, Caroline

Tabar, Mary

Trice, Carol

Vincent, Kit

Warkentin, Nelda

Windsor, Janet

Wong, Ellen








Julia Graziano, Arches I, 2012









Shin-hee Chin, Anne Frank, 2012








Elizabeth Busch, Progress, 2012







Pamela Loewen, Summer's Garden, 2012








Joan Sowanda, Magic Wall, 2011

Gallery Hours & Special Events

Gallery Hours:

Tuesday - Saturday, 10 am - 5 pm, Sunday 1 - 5 pm. CLOSED: Mondays & major holidays.
Closing @ 3pm Thanksgiving Eve, Christmas Eve, New Years Eve.

Admission: $6. Exhibiting quilters, Art Center members, & children under 12 are free.

Director's Tour: Friday, November 1, 6pm

Enjoy a second opportunity to tour the 33rd annual quilt show with Executive Director Donna Lamb at 6pm. Free and open to the public.

Trunk Shows

Trunk Shows are “show and tell” opportunities for artists/quilters to discuss their work. Meet regional quilters and see examples of their work. Included with $6 general admission, free for Art Center members and exhibiting quilters.

All trunk show start at 2pm

November 3rd - Felicity Miller, Fabric Designer

November 10th - Julia Graziano, 2013 exhibiting artist

November 17th - Martha May, 2013 exhibiting artist

Noember 24th - Vanessa Johnson, storyteller and fiber artist

December 1st - John Kubiniec, owner of Big Rig Quilting

December 8th - Ithaca Modern Quilting Guild

Quilts for Art: Mini-Quilt Raffle

October 26, 2013 – January 5, 2014

Purchase your chance to win a small quilt donated by one of the exhibiting quilters. 


About the Jurors

Rosalie Dace has a B.A., UED in Fine Art and English. She has been traveling and teaching for 25 years, encouraging creative growth and development in her students. Apart from her native South Africa, she has taught and exhibited internationally in Australia, New Zealand, Germany, Canada and the US, and was nominated for the Professional Quilter Magazine’s “Teacher of the Year” award in 2007. Her work, which reflects her passion for color, design and texture, is characterized by its wild mix of fabrics and is in several private and public collections.

Jo Anne Cooper s co-director of Mobilia Gallery, an internationally known gallery featuring 20th and 21st century decorative arts, sculpture, paintings, textiles and studio jewelry. Cooper has curated many exhibits showcasing American and international artists that have included lectures, symposiums, traveling exhibition and catalogs which provide a deeper understanding of the decorative arts and the creative process. Cooper attended the School of the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston and the California College of the Arts. She has given presentations for The Museum of Fine Arts, Skinner Auctioneers, The Fuller Craft Museum, and The Craft Alliance.

Lasse Antonsen - Prize Juror

Lasse Antonsen was born in Copenhagen, Denmark where he studied art and creative writing. After moving to the US, Antonsen continued his studies at the Harvard University Extension Program and Tufts University where he received an MA in art history. Antonsen has worked as a researcher at the Institute of Contemporary Art in Boston, and as curator of the Danforth Museum of Art. He was director of the University Art Gallery at University of Massachusetts Dartmouth for twenty-five years. As an art historian he has taught graduate courses at Rhode Island School of Design, and currently teaches at Massachusetts College of Art. As an artist he has created multiple installations, and his work was included in exhibitions in Brooklyn at Proteus Gowanus, and in Jersey City at Curious Matter.

SCHWEINFURTH MEMORIAL ART CENTER . 205 Genesee Street, AUBURN, NY 13021 . (315)255-1553 .